Off topic part 2 (or things people can do to help)

Edited to add trigger warnings: self harm & eating disorder

Because the last off topic post was somewhat bleak I wanted to counterbalance it with one where I’m basically saying I am trying to fight the stupid part of my head. My GP knows about depression and self harm and a bit of eating stuff but she kind of ignored me when I told her I wasn’t eating… I’m on antidepressents and when she tried to refer me to counselling they told her to send me to the pain clinic instead. Had my first pain clinic appointment recently which was useful from a pain point of view. They are going to send me to a joint Occupational Therapy and psych appointment to look at ways of coping with pain, relaxation and stuff like that so I’m hoping that will help. I did also mentioned food stuff to them but they didn’t acknowledge that I’d said it… Seems to be a theme…

One of the things I’ve been asked a lot is how people can help me. I’m not really sure. I’ve been trying to find some answers and the following is the best I’ve come up with so far:

    • If you see me, give me a hug
  • If I ask odd food related favours, it’s probably taken a lot to ask so don’t question me too much
  • Talk to me. About anything. I’m interested in your life but I have lost almost all of my ability to have a conversation.
  • Distract me

Most importantly, look after yourself and know that I am the only person who can really help me.

Leave a Reply

