The Finale

It’s the final week of my online writing course.  We’ve been given a list of opening lines and are free to write poetry, prose, whatever we feel like!

I’ve taken a few of these and am going to develop them a bit more but here are my initial thoughts:

Broken ghosts serenade me now

Sweet whispers beckon
On chilled breezes
Skin prickles with memories
Which no one else knows

I am the only one left

When another world has consumed
And engulfed these recollections
Will they have existed at all?

Falling down is easy

Falling is easy
Much harder to reach out and
Ask for help to stand

There are few things in this world that I despise more than a locked door.

Crashing, thumping
Getting closer
Unbearable noise
Blinding lights
Getting closer
Suffocating
Attacking
Getting closer

I locked the door

Safe inside the emptiness
In the darkness
My sanctuary threatens
To consume me

I locked the door
Then lost the key

Leave a Reply

