What is your favourite line of poetry?

I came across an Elan blog post which had a collection of favourite lines of poetry which made me think.  Favourite sounds like it should be something good, positive, something beautiful…   Instead I’ve gone with lines that have lodged in my mind.

“Twisted reflections in fairground mirrors”
– me, Untitled

It’s probably very egotistical that my first thought was from my own poem.  I think it’s probably that it’s resonated with me strongly for a long time.  Essentially it’s a reminder that perception is so often skewed.  Something I need reminding of so often that I’ve actually embroidered it and have it hanging in my living room.

“They fuck you up, your mum and dad”
– Phillip Larkin, This be the verse

Because who doesn’t like an entire poem about the misery of having parents?

“You may write me down in history
With your bitter, twisted lies,
You may trod me in the very dirt
But still, like dust, I’ll rise.”
– Maya Angelou, Still I rise

And ending on a more positive note, I find this from Maya Angelou very inspiring and empowering.

What are your favourite lines of poetry?

Leave a Reply

