Faceless

Faceless

 

You’ll know me by the legs

Twisted around and around

Each other

Vines strangling and choking

 

You’ll know me by the penetrating

Cold of my skin, the shivering

Marble statue

Posed in front of you

 

You’ll know me by the child’s wrists

Fragile, weakened by trauma

Outlined by silvery scars

And the ghosts of my past

 

You’ll know me by the inked

Memories; a camera, a daisy

Sketched on in an attempt

To reclaim the body I rent

 

You’ll know me by the solitary

Silver stud in my left ear

Nestled alongside a natural pinprick:

How my mother identified newborn me

 

You’ll know me by the book

Clutched to chest, the camera

Round my neck and the paw

Placed in my left hand

 

You’ll know me, even when faceless.

One of the prompts from the girl in a hat that I mentioned yesterday was ‘Ways they’d find you in a faceless line-up’ which was a really interesting idea.  I did try writing a list but I think I’m so unaware of myself, there’s such a distinction between mind and body that I really struggled.

7 thoughts on “Faceless”

Leave a Reply

