Too ill to cook?

Flicking through twitter this week I found a link to Natasha Lipman’s blog post “Too ill to cook?” which resonated strongly with me and feels like it would be useful information for many others as well.

With her permission I have quoted some of her post but do go and read the article over on her site.  And don’t forget about the useful tips section in the chronic pain cookbook!

“…cooking, mannnnnn.  That involves getting out of bed and standing around and like, chopping and doing things. Exhausting! I’ve stopped being fancy in the kitchen and am getting on with more quick and easy simple things to make sure I feed myself well with the minimum amount of effort. And trust me, when you don’t/can’t just bung a ready meal in the oven it makes things a lot harder. Whether I want to or not, I don’t have a choice about spending my energy on this.”

I know many of us with chronic pain are also limited in terms of what we eat and on the whole home cooked meals are better for us nutritionally so I hope the top tips she shares can help keep you cooking.  Please share your own as well.

Leave a Reply

