Self care with EDS

It’s clearly that point in January when Christmas is barely a memory, new years resolutions have gone the way of the dodo and the forecasted -15 degrees is getting people down.  To combat this advice is flying all over the internet; I woke up to about 101 emails on the subject of self care.

Now, self care is something I’m still wrestling with.  I know it’s important, I know it’s helpful and I’m working on feeling that I’m worth it.

In amongst the emails, there were a couple which stood out for different reasons.  Blurt had sent an email which included a link to a long list of suggestions for self care and part of my struggle is knowing what works for me.  I know from a lot of attempts, that a bath is not self care for me.  Now I know these days I can’t actually get in the bath so it’s not an option but prior to that I had this vision of the perfect bath which would make me feel better.  Instead I would lay in the water getting cold and filling my head with nasty thoughts about my body.  Back then, this was the only thing I knew about self care so you can understand why I wasn’t into the idea.  I’m now a little wiser.  I know a bath will never fix me.  I also know that a bath isn’t the only option for self care.

And that’s why I like the list from Blurt but also Chronically Kate because I know that she knows that self care is harder when you are ill.  Yes, self care is hard when you’re struggling with depression, I know, but factor in epic pain and exhaustion and take away a load of self care options, and you’re in a different situation.

I can’t go for a walk in the fresh air, I can’t write frantically in a journal, I can’t hole myself up with a book and read and read and read, I can’t bake, I can’t go to the sea on a whim, I can’t do anything on a whim.  So what does that leave you with?

Well, one of the things that Kate advises is pausing and checking in with yourself.  I think for me this is becoming a big way to look after myself. It’s something that I’ve been working on with my psychologist. I imagine different people have different ways to do this but I needed some tools for it. So I have started to use tarot cards to check out what I’m thinking and feeling more clearly. I also have a couple of inner versions of me which, sort of like the idea of an inner child, and I check in with them as a way of checking in with myself.  It’s similar to voice dialogue but has been a very organic thing which has developed in my therapy sessions.

I’d be interested to hear how other people check in with themselves or what other people do for self care.

Leave a Reply

