Tarot and therapy

image

As I mentioned in my self care and EDS post, I’m starting to use tarot cards as a way of getting in touch with myself.  I’m finding it helpful and wanted to share a bit in case it helps someone else.

I’m not using the cards as a way of predicting the future. I’m using them to create a clearer narrative with myself and to access my sub conscious and unconscious.  There’s lots of reasons why tarot might help but for me there’s a couple of big ones:

  • Firstly, you have to go to the cards with a question or theme, thus narrowing your thoughts to one issue rather than all of them.  If you’re like me then all the different painful and difficult things merge into one so if I’m left just to reflect or think about them, I get overwhelmed by this mess of ALL the things.  Tarot means I have to chose one thing which is obviously much more manageable and easier to get insight about.
  • Secondly, it gives you a dialogue of sorts.  If a card comes up that really resonates I can agree and acknowledge that.  If a card comes up and I’m thinking what on earth, that’s so way off, I can look at why I think that, is it really that far off the truth etc.  It offers an alternative perspective on something, one which I can probe and try out.  It’s thought provoking. (I’m finding it hard to find the words for this so apologies if I’m a bit clumsy.)

Cards will have multiple meanings and spreads have multiple interpretations which means they can combine to tell numerous stories.  The story you hear is the one you need to hear at that point in time.  It’s a way for the inner you or your unconsciousness to clarify and streamline it’s thinking and a way for it to verbalise that.  Being able to articulate something makes it much easier to handle and probe and question and doing that solidifies your views or thinking.

Cards give you something to hold on to.  I’m all about physical manifestations of emotions (hence self harm…) and you can also use a card as a reminder and carry it with you during the day.  For example, if a card suggests taking risks and you decide that means you need to talk to your boss about a payrise, sometimes having that card, that reminder with you keeps you more accountable to that.

If you have more time, you can learn what the cards mean by studying the pictures.  This is also something that I’d suggest doing as part of a reading, especially those cards which you have a strong positive or negative reaction to.  Look closely and see what they’re suggesting to you.  For example, I have a beautiful little duckling on one of my cards and she looks naive and vulnerable and represents the fool which is innocence and starting out.  With cards where the meaning is harder to understand or interpret, the image can be used to try a different, non verbal way towards understanding.

I guess really, it’s providing a focused mediation of sorts.  And in a way which, for me at least, is more more accessible than traditional meditation.


My cards are the beautiful Wild Unknown from Little Red Tarot shop.  They come with a little basic guide but I’ve also got the accompanying book.

3 thoughts on “Tarot and therapy”

Leave a Reply

