Disability and sexuality

edited to add links to blog posts

Woah.  So.  I had this idea for a blogpost about disability and sexuality, sparked by a blog I read and I’ve just covered a brief look at this in my future learn course.

Then I sat down and thought about it and was like where on earth do I start…

There are so many things to talk about:

And that was just a five minute throw stuff down on paper exercise…

This is clearly a HUGE issue and one which will not fit into one blog post… So.  I’m going to go away, do some reading and then come back with some more info and thoughts about some of these issues.

By the way, the Future Learn course I’m doing is great.  It’s called Disability and a Good Life; Thinking through Disability.

It’s been so much more interesting and in depth than I was expecting.  I’d kind of signed up to just see what it was like and throw in my experiences and opinions and partly to make sure that it wasn’t just lots of able bodied people talking about this unknown concept of a disabled person.  But I was so wrong.

We’ve covered so much; history of disability, disability around the world, who counts as disability, attitudes, intersectionality (which is where sexuality has come in) etc.  If they run it again, do it.  If not, they’re running a sister course in August called Disability and a Good Life: Working with Disability.

1 thought on “Disability and sexuality”

Leave a Reply

