#30dayswild

This month is the 30 Days Wild challenge.  The idea being that you do something wild every day throughout June.

What is a Random Act of Wildness?

A Random Act of Wildness is about making time to connect with nature around you, or doing something small yourself to help nature. Random Acts of Wildness are all about experiencing, learning about and helping your local wildlife. They can be simple, small, fun and exciting too.

The Wildlife Trusts running the challenge have their suggestions about ways you can be wild and are tweeting about it.  I love the idea of it and a couple of years ago I tried to challenge myself to notice three nature related things each day.  I liked the concept and I like the awareness but when you spend most of your life in your flat, it can get tricky to find new things.

My health is being more rubbish than normal right now so I’m stepping into this challenge very aware that I may not meet it every day and certainly won’t look like people’s idea of being wild in nature.  Part of the process for me is about getting back to basics and looking at what I can do, not just what I wish I could do.

For example, right now there is a woodpigeon cooing and I know it’s a woodpigeon and I love that I can tell it from it’s call (I’m not good at bird identification let alone birdsong identification).

I’ve been really pleased to see others on twitter taking a similar approach.  @porridgebrain tweeted that her “contributions will be very small and ordinary and probably only a few feet from my house.”  She also mentioned the perception of what a nature person should be and how if you aren’t doing x, y or z then you aren’t doing it right. And this is something I’ve picked up on as well.  There’s a lot of narrative about how you need to sit still quietly on the top of a hill with binoculars and no electricity pylons in sight before you earn the nature badge.

Jo Southall is another person who is focusing on doorstep nature.  She has some of the same health issues as me and I really admire the way she does get out into the more traditional wild but how she also pays attention to what is right in front of her.

I have written about nature and disability before and would love to get your ideas about ways of connecting with nature when you have limited mobility or can’t leave the house.

Why am I rambling about nature so much?

Connecting with nature when you’re stuck in the house

Connecting with nature when you have limited mobility

My hope is to collate my #30dayswild into a blog post at the end of June as a way of sharing my ideas and showing how I bring nature into my life on a regular basis.

Day one: I saw a huge bee exploring my bird feeder which was exciting because no birds have been by… It’s been up for a few months now and I think it’s just a bad location but I don’t have a better one for it. I had the window open so despite being stuck in bed, I was able to hear the birds. I also emailed various organisations about disability and nature (I’ve been meaning to for a while) to ask for their suggestions, recommendations and to see if they could share my blog posts.  And I wrote up some long overdue reviews on euans guide:

And my copy of BBC wildlife magazine arrived!

Day two: Using the magic of the internet, I identified a blackbird from its song that wafted through the open window.  As I said above, I don’t really know any bird calls and I’d love to learn more.

 

2 thoughts on “#30dayswild”

  1. Thanks so much for the mention! It’s really appreciated. I’ll keep up with your 30 Days Wild and I hope you have an amazing month!

Leave a Reply

