Things which make my life easier

I’ve already written about this twice but my condition changes and so does my life and what I use to help me get through the day so I wanted to do another update.  You may also want to check out the following posts:

Things which make my life easier: Post 1

Things which make my life easier: Post 2

Reading with hand pain

  • Having carers makes a huge difference to my life
  • Home adaptations through the council:
    • Electric door opener for the front door – I have a fob button which opens the door so I don’t damage my shoulder or hand when I try.  It also means I can let people in without having to get up.
    • Electric curtain and window openers
    • This all results in a lot of remotes which I have tied on to my trolley so they are always to hand.  I also use remote controlled plug sockets for lamps.
  • Understanding friends
  • Twitter
  • My electric wheelchair, manual wheelchair and crutches
  • My diary – not only does it keep track of appointments and carers, I use it to track the things I need to do to maintain my health eg exercise, seeing people, using my brain, being creative, getting outside, getting rest etc.
  • Connecting with nature
  • Frozen meals; I often get my carers to do a batch of macaroni cheese or similar and we put it in takeaway style tins.  This means I can have comfort food on nights when we don’t have time to cook from scratch.
  • Riser recliner chair
  • Chewable toothbrushes and baby toothbrush.  The latter is lighter than most electric toothbrushes and has a smaller head.  I struggle with the vibrations causing hand pain but because it is smaller, I can just about cope with carers cleaning my teeth for me.  When my jaw pain is bad I use mouthwash and if my legs are bad, the carers leave the cup of mouthwash on my trolley by my bed along with a plastic cup to spit into.
  • 4Head is a roll on headache treatment which works by slightly numbing the area and thus breaking the tension cycle.  I use it when my shoulders are painful as this causes me neck pain which causes a headache and results in me holding my shoulders badly.. So I rub it on my neck and shoulders to help me relax them a little and interupt that cycle.
  • Hot rox for keeping warm.  I rotate mine between my hands and my legs when I’m in the wheelchair.
  • I drink a lot of juice and in the winter it was getting far too cold when I went out so my juice bottle now has a very thick, snuggly sock for it to live in.  This keeps my juice a little more drinkable in winter.
  • Slippers you can sleep in mean you aren’t having to put them on and off and on and off, especially helpful if, like me, you curl up in chairs.  Note, whilst I love having slippers I can sleep in, my physio insists I should wear ones with more structure.  I don’t because each time I sit down with my legs raised (which is basically every time I sit down) they fall off.
  • Portable foot rest.  I used this more when I was on crutches – it is portable and means when you’re in meetings or on chairs where your feet don’t quite touch the floor, you can rest them and reduce the leg pain.
  • Label maker
  • Wheelchair cosy and blanket
  • Prepaid prescription card.  I’m not eligible for help with prescription costs but the prepayment card means I only pay £100 a year rather than the £80-100 a month it would cost me otherwise.

What makes your life easier?

 

Leave a Reply

