#30dayswild

I wrote an introduction to #30dayswild at the beginning of June which explains the challenge and how I’m approaching it.  As we’ve reached the end I want to share some of my highlights.

Day one: I saw a huge bee exploring my bird feeder which was exciting because no birds have been by… It’s been up for a few months now and I think it’s just a bad location but I don’t have a better one for it. I had the window open so despite being stuck in bed, I was able to hear the birds. I also emailed various organisations about disability and nature (I’ve been meaning to for a while) to ask for their suggestions, recommendations and to see if they could share my blog posts.  And I wrote up some long overdue reviews on euans guide:

And my copy of BBC wildlife magazine arrived!

Day two: Using the magic of the internet, I identified a blackbird from its song that wafted through the open window.  As I said above, I don’t really know any bird calls and I’d love to learn more.

Day three: My 30 days wild pack arrived and I wrote about snails and ladybirds.  I scattered wild flower seeds in my yard and made butterflies from clay as its butterfly education and awareness day.  This was a good day but I was in a state health wise at the end of it.

_20170603_150102

Day four: Day three was a bit much for me so day four has been a bit of a washout.  Basically mostly spending it in bed watching netflix and reading about the seasons:

_20170604_150414

Day five: I felt worse than day four so very little done at all and not really even up to reading.  I did however get a great response from one of the emails I sent on day 1 about access to nature when you have limited mobility.

I feel like this entire year is just passing me by as I bounce from one phase of illness to another…

Reads: As I lay ill, inside, trapped by my body, the seasons turn and turn and turn
Reads: As I lay ill, inside, trapped by my body, the seasons turn and turn and turn

Day six: There was supposed to be a walk but there was also exceptionally heavy rain so we postponed.  I did get out to go to the not very wild supermarket where I bought a couple of nature focused magazines.  I also, amongst other things, saw a happy little snail on the pavement outside my flat.  Whilst not a plant, it put me in mind of the following quote:

Reads: I like it when a flower or a little tuft of grass grows through a crack in the concrete. It's so fuckin' heroic - George Carlin
Reads: I like it when a flower or a little tuft of grass grows through a crack in the concrete. It’s so fuckin’ heroic – George Carlin

Day seven: Resting up for a day out on 9th.  The sun is dancing with the clouds, alternating my bedroom between light and dark in a matter of seconds.

Day eight: Awake at 3.30am but being serenaded by a blackbird calling in the day.

Day nine: A day trip!  We went to The Deep in Hull which was very accessible and has very detailed information about access on their website.  I was impressed.  As we drove over the weather was a bit patchy, sun and clouds.  And then the heavens opened.  It was like giants were pouring buckets of water over us.  The window wipers couldn’t keep up, the drains couldn’t keep up, we could barely see the car in front.  And then, just as suddenly as it started, it stopped.  It turned out to be a very strange day for weather.  When we stopped for lunch at Hornsea, it was really cold.  Once we’d eaten though, it was glorious sunshine and lovely and warm.  But after a short walk, the sky turned black once more. The weather was certainly wild!

I realise that #30dayswild is more about plants and animals and such but the weather is an important part of nature for me.  One day I will learn more about it. But for now, how about some pictures from The Deep?!  It was hard to capture them because you can’t use your flash and it’s quite dark and the animals move around a lot!

From here on out though, things got a bit patchy. My health went squiffier than normal and I’m not committing to any more thing a day challenges because they always seem to coincide with me feeling rubbish…

Day 10: Woken by a woodpigeon in the early hours and the day finished with a musky, golden sky.

Day 12: A little walk.

Day 18: Went to the park.  Saw ducklings and also baby blackbirds which I’ve never seen before!

Day 19: A really hot looking pigeon glared at me from my garden fence.

Day 20: I did some drawing, including a picture of dandelions:

dandelion

Day 21: More art, the summer solstice and a post about sunflowers.

Day 22: Saw a starling in a car park with a huge beakful of food, looking very pleased with itself.  And crows or ravens ruling the roost on the top of the butchers.

Day 28: Two little blackbirds hopped around outside my bedroom window making me smile.

Day 30: The woodpigeon, in all his plump and puffed up glory, returned to tightrope walking along my fence.

As I said above, I’ve not done well because of health and even though these all seem like little things, they bring a smile to my face when I notice them.  Having learnt the sound of a blackbird calling at the beginning of the month, I now pay more attention to his song.  It is more meaningful to me because I know which bird is calling.

Leave a Reply

